TreasureRealm Home | Chinese Coins | Other Countries | Coins for Sale

Emperors of the Ching Dynasty, China

Although the Ming Dynasty actually lasted until 1644, the year in which the Emperor Chuang Lieh Ti committed suicide and the capital city of Peking came under control of the Manchu army, the Ching (Qing, Ch'ing) (meaning "pure") Dynasty is often started in 1616 when Tai Tsu, often called "Nurhachu" or "Nurhachi" began to issue coins. (This is the emperor referred to in Indiana Jones and the Temple of Doom when Lao Che says "Inside are the remains of Nurhachi, the first Emperor of Manchu Dynasty")

Because of the growing population and trade with the western world, several mints were set up during this dynasty to meet the demand for coins. It can become a challenge for the collector of Chinese cash to obtain an example of each of mint. Mints such as the Board of Revenue and the Board of Public Works in Peking are fairly common whereas some operated only for a few years and may be quite difficult to find.

Also of movie interest is Pu I, the final emperor of this Dynasty. This is the ruler about whom The Last Emperor (1987) was made.

Tai Tsu (Nurhachu)(1616 AD - 1626 AD)
Tai Tsung(1626 AD - 1643 AD)
Shih Tsu(1643 AD - 1661 AD)
Sheng Tsu(1661 AD - 1722 AD)
Shih Tsung(1722 AD - 1735 AD)
Kao Tsung(1735 AD - 1796 AD)
Jen Tsung(1796 AD - 1820 AD)
Hsuan Tsung(1820 AD - 1850 AD)
Wen Tsung(1850 AD - 1861 AD)
Mu Tsung(1861 AD - 1875 AD)
Te Tsung(1875 AD - 1908 AD)
Pu I (Yi)(1908 AD - 1912 AD)

List of Chinese Dynasties and Coins
To TreasureRealm Homepage | Index of Coin Papers

Custom Search

Terms of Use - Privacy Policy - Contact - Home

© 1996-2017 TreasureRealm